SHARE THIS
Copy the link and open WeChat to share

Open Wechat

Many people are socially and economically disadvantaged in Hong Kong society, such as ethnic minority residents, which number about five per cent of the population, and people with disabilities, which is about six per cent. Oxfam helps empower people to claim their rights and to advocate better policies. 

 

Case 1: People with disabilities
1st Step Association, which Oxfam began supporting in 2003, works with people with disabilities, as well as with their caregivers, who also face hardships. The policy advocacy group carries out a range of actions, such as urging Legislative Council members to legislate better community services.

In the past, only two schools in Hong Kong have had residential respite services for children with disabilities, yet 1st Step succeeded to convince the Education Bureau to set up two more. One caregiver-advocate, Bo Bo, says, “My 14-year-old son studies at one of the seven schools for children with disabilities, but only two have residential respite services. I know a mother who has cancer. When she has to go to the hospital, there is no one to take care of her disabled child. I also know a caregiver who looks after a disabled child and her husband with cancer. Can you imagine how hard her life must be? ” The Association’s persistence paid off. By 2011, four of the seven schools will have dormitories. 

Oxfam has also supported various groups over the years, such as Alliance for Renal Patient’s Mutual Help Association, Association of Women with Disabilities, Care for Your Heart, Hong Kong Epilepsy Association, Hong Kong Federation of The Blind, Hong Kong Neuro-Muscular Disease Association, Hong Kong Occupational Deafness Association and Retina Hong Kong.

 

Case 2: Ethnic minorities
Oxfam believes that every person has equal rights, regardless of race, ethnicity, sex, gender or culture.  According to government statistics, almost 70 per cent of ethnic minority workers in Hong Kong earn less than HK$4,000 a month. Oxfam addresses such inequality through a wide range of legal advocacy, community projects, and public education. 

One income-generation project Oxfam has supported is Love Multi-Culture, a shop in Kwai Fong which sells handicrafts, jewellery and accessories made by South Asian women. One participant, Ranjitkaual, 35, says that before working at the shop two days a week, she had difficulty finding a job. Not speaking Chinese meant that she often felt removed from the culture, and lonely. Nowadays, Ranjitkaual earns HK$500 to $1,000 a month, and says, “I am happy that I can make some money. It is not much, but at least I can have some support for my family. The centre is like a platform where we can meet new friends and have contact with society.” The organisation behind Love Multi-Culture is HK SKH Lady MacLehose Centre Group, a partner organisation of Oxfam.

Another Oxfam partner oragnisation, Hong Kong Unison concentrates exclusively on ethnic minority rights. UNISON has lobbied hard for legislation against racial discrimination, and in July 2009, the Racial Discrimination Ordinance finally became effective. A current call by UNISON is for the Joint University Programmes Admissions System (JUPAS) to adopt university admission requirements for non-Chinese speaking students.

分享
Copy the link and open WeChat to share

Open Wechat

香港社會有不少人,都因為社會資源和財富分配不均,日益被摒諸社會和經濟制度邊緣,這包括分別佔人口約百分之五和六的少數族裔和殘障人士及其照顧者。樂施會積極支援這些弱勢社群,為他們爭取應有的權益,爭取改善政策。

 

個案1: 殘障人士
樂施會2003年開始支持的「自強協會」,一直為殘障人士以及他們的照顧者提供支援。該政策倡議團體透過多種方式為殘障人士爭取權益,如促請立法會議員推動立法改善社區服務。

香港以往只有兩間肢體傷殘兒童學校,可供學生留宿;「自強協會」成功向教育局爭取增建兩家肢體弱能學童宿舍。其中一位參與倡議運動的家長何寶貞說:「我14歲的兒子在特殊學校上學。可是全港七所肢體傷殘兒童學校當中,只有兩間可供學生留宿。我認識一個肢體殘障者的母親,因為患了癌症而要住院,無法如常每日接送孩子上學。又有一個媽媽,她要同時照顧患上癌病的丈夫和肢體殘障的孩子。你可以想像她的生活有多艱難嗎?」不過,在「自強協會」的努力下,七間特殊學校當中將有四間可提供留宿服務。

樂時會多年來亦撥款資助多個本地志願組織,包括︰「腎友會」、「女障協進會」、「關心您的心」、「香港協癇會」、「香港失明人士互聯會」、「香港肌健協會」、「香港衞聰會」及「香港視網膜病變協會」等。

 

個案2: 少數族裔
樂施會深信,每個人都應該享有平等權利,不應因種族、民族、性別或文化差異而受到歧視或排斥。但本會研究顯示,香港近七成少數族裔勞工每月收入不足4,000港元。樂施會針對這種不公平的情況,展開一系列立法倡議、社區項目及公眾教育。

葵芳的「愛‧服‧飾——南亞創藝衣飾店」是樂施會支持的增加收入項目之一,致力推動南亞裔婦女運用所長,設計及製作飾物出售。其中一個參加了「南亞創藝設計製作隊」、35歲的Ranjitkaual,每星期都會到店裡工作兩天,但她說此前她很難找到工作。由於不會說廣東話,令她常常感到疏離,孤立無援。現在Ranjitkaual每月可以賺到500至1,000港元,她說:「我很高興可以賺到一點收入。雖然不多,但起碼可以幫補家計。中心就像一個平台,為我們提供接觸社會和認識新朋友的機會。成立」「愛‧服‧飾——南亞創藝衣飾店」的「香港聖公會麥理浩夫人中心」,是樂施會其中一個夥伴機構。

樂施會另一夥伴機構「香港融樂會」,主力關注少數族裔的權益。「融樂會」積極倡議立法反對種族歧視:2009年七月,種族歧視條例終於生效。「融樂會」又促成大學聯合招生辦法(JUPAS),為非華語學生修改收生要求。