Skip to main content
Start main content

Floods in Southern China 2020

This aerial photo taken on June 10, 2020 shows submerged fields and inundated buildings after heavy rain caused flooding in Rongan in China's southern Guangxi region. (Credit: STR / AFP)

This aerial photo, taken on 10 June 2020, shows submerged fields and inundated buildings after heavy rain caused flooding in Rong‘an in China's southern Guangxi region. (Photo: STR / AFP)

Updated on 20 July 2020
 

The Situation
In early June, floods hit southern China which, as of 3 July 2020, has affected more than 19.3 million people and has left 121 people dead or missing in 26 provinces (autonomous regions and municipalities), including Guangxi, Guizhou, Guangdong, Hunan, Jiangxi, Chongqing. Of them, Guangxi was worst hit. 

According to statistics from the emergency management office of Guangxi, more than 1.2 million people were affected in the area, and crops on over 80,000 hectares of land were damaged; more than 800 houses also collapsed. Yangshuo County was severely affected by the floods after experiencing record-breaking rainfall. More than 156,000 people there were affected, and a large number of survivors’ homes were destroyed. Emergency supplies and food were urgently needed.


ACT NOW! Save LivEs!

donate now
*Oxfam will use the donations for emergency, rehabilitation, or community development projects in China.

Oxfam’s response
In Guangxi, our local partner organisation in Guilin, Blue Sky Rescue, immediately assessed the disaster and responded. From 7 to 8 June, a total of 56 rescuers were dispatched to transfer about 1,300 survivors in Yangshuo County and Pingle County to safety. 

Blue Sky Rescue has carried out many emergency responses in Guangxi before and has been a project partner of ours for many years. Their rescuers have also taken part in many of the humanitarian training sessions we have organised.

Together with our partners, we also immediately conducted a needs assessment and determined a material distribution plan. On 23 June, we received a HK$550,000 grant from the HKSAR Government's Disaster Relief Fund (DRF) to support the survivors of the floods in Guangxi. With this, we distributed emergency food relief, including 88,500 kg of rice and 300 five-litre bottles of cooking oil, to 5,900 survivors in Gaotian Town and Jinbao Townships of Yangshuo County whose houses had collapsed, were seriously damaged or were flooded. The distribution ended on 3 July.

Whenever Oxfam responds to an emergency, we pay special attention to the needs of remote and poor communities that have limited access to resources. We also focus on vulnerable groups, such as ethnic minorities and women.

The DRF requires that this fund be used for this specific disaster, in accordance with the funding application submitted by Oxfam and approved by the DRF. After the completion of our relief work, we would carry out an evaluation, and submit an evaluation report and financial report (including external auditing report) to the DRF.

 

是次救援項目的合作夥伴組織桂林市「藍天救援隊」乃樂施會的長期合作夥伴,曾多次派員參與由樂施會主辦、按照《環球計劃──人道主義憲章與人道救援響應最低標準》所設計的專業救災培訓。(拍攝:藍天救援隊)

Our partner organisation for this response is Blue Sky Rescue from Guilin, with whom we have worked for many years. They have joined many of the trainings sessions we organised on The Sphere Project: Humanitarian Charter and Minimum Standards in Humanitarian Response. (Photo: Blue Sky Rescue)

「藍天救援隊」於6月7至8日共出動了56名前綫隊員,在陽朔縣、平樂縣將約1,300名災民轉移至安全的地方。(拍攝:藍天救援隊)

From 7 to 8 June, a total of 56 rescuers from Blue Sky Rescue were dispatched to transfer about 1,300 survivors in Yangshuo County and Pingle County to safety. (Photo: Blue Sky Rescue)

 

Ensuring every dollar is spent responsibly every step of the way

Whenever we respond to disasters, we ensure that donations are used for the people affected by the disaster. We have a strict programme quality monitoring and financial auditing system. Oxfam staff are also in charge of the whole process from sourcing to purchasing to distributing relief supplies, and the entire process is open, fair and transparent.

In an effort to save money while ensuring the quality of the supplies, Oxfam will quote prices from three sources. By doing this, we also ensure we reach as many survivors as possible with the limited amount of resources we have. We will also sign a contract with the supplier and pay the supplier directly. 

Whenever we distribute relief, recipients sign a record, and details of the items that are distributed in the village will also be publicised. After an emergency response, our staff will return to the location and interview survivors and village representatives who have received relief from Oxfam. These interviews are conducted to understand their thoughts on the distribution process and standards.

 

In addition, we at Oxfam allocated our own funds to support victims in Guizhou Province. We used RMB100,000 to distribute emergency food and sanitation items to 942 households in impoverished communities affected by hailstorms in Qingshan and Luohan Townships in Pu'an County, Guizhou Province. Each household received 19 kg of rice and a hygiene kit, which includes face masks and other protective equipment.

In Bijie City and Tongren City in Guizhou Province, Oxfam used RMB558,000 to meet survivors’ immediate needs by distributing relief supplies, including rice, cooking oil and quilts. We reached over 5,000 people affected by the disaster from 1,215 families in four villages in Bahuang and Dashuixiang Townships in Tongren City and Biejie City respectively.

We will continue to keep a close eye on the situation in communities affected by the disaster. We will also maintain regular contact with local partners and communities, and provide relief/assistance to needy and vulnerable groups.

跳往主要內容
開始主要內容
在廣西的榮安縣,這張拍攝於2020年6月10日的航拍照片顯示,大雨導致洪水氾濫,淹沒大片土地和建築物。(拍攝:STR / 法新社)

在廣西的融安縣,這張拍攝於2020年6月10日的航拍照片顯示,大雨導致洪水氾濫,淹沒大片土地和建築物。(拍攝:STR / 法新社)

更新於 2020年7月20日

災情

內地華南地區6月初出現水災,截至2020年7月3日,洪澇造成廣西、貴州、廣東、湖南、江西、重慶等26省(區、市)超過1,938萬人受災,121人死亡或失蹤。

其中,廣西災情非常嚴重,據廣西應急部門統計,當地超過120萬人受災,農作物受災面積逾8萬公頃,超過800間房屋倒塌。陽朔縣災情尤為嚴重,降雨量打破歷史記錄,受災人數超過15.6萬,大批災民家園被毀,並急需生活應急物資及糧食。


扶危濟困 刻不容緩

請即捐款

 * 捐款會用作在國內推行救災、災後重建及扶貧項目。

樂施會救援工作

在廣西,樂施會的當地合作夥伴組織桂林市「藍天救援隊」迅速評估災情及作出救援行動,於6月7至8日共出動56名前綫隊員,在陽朔縣、平樂縣將約1,300名災民轉移至安全的地方。桂林市藍天救援隊曾多次參與廣西的緊急救援工作,是樂施會多年的項目夥伴,其救援人員多次參加樂施會舉辦的人道救援培訓。

樂施會與合作夥伴亦迅速在當地進行需求評估,並釐定物資發放計劃,6月23日獲香港特區政府賑災基金委員會批出55萬港元,用以支援廣西水災的災民。我們在災情最嚴重的陽朔縣向高田鎮和金寶鄉共5,900名因水災導致房屋倒塌、嚴重受損或洪水浸泡的災民派發88,500公斤白米和300桶5公升食用油,並且於7月3日完成派發物資。

樂施會在進行救援工作時,特別關注偏遠貧困、獲較少外界資源的社區,以及少數民族、婦女等弱勢社群的需要。

救援項目實施完畢後,將按規定向賑災基金委員會遞交總結報告及財務報告。申請政府賑災基金是「專款專項、實報實銷」,申請機構需進行外部審計,如有餘款,樂施會將會退回香港特區政府。
 

是次救援項目的合作夥伴組織桂林市「藍天救援隊」乃樂施會的長期合作夥伴,曾多次派員參與由樂施會主辦、按照《環球計劃──人道主義憲章與人道救援響應最低標準》所設計的專業救災培訓。(拍攝:藍天救援隊)

是次救援項目的合作夥伴組織桂林市「藍天救援隊」乃樂施會的長期合作夥伴,曾多次派員參與由樂施會主辦、按照《環球計劃──人道主義憲章與人道救援響應最低標準》所設計的專業救災培訓。(拍攝:藍天救援隊)

「藍天救援隊」於6月7至8日共出動了56名前綫隊員,在陽朔縣、平樂縣將約1,300名災民轉移至安全的地方。(拍攝:藍天救援隊)

「藍天救援隊」於6月7至8日共出動了56名前綫隊員,在陽朔縣、平樂縣將約1,300名災民轉移至安全的地方。(拍攝:藍天救援隊)

 

三方比價、直接購貨、現場派發,確保款項用得其所

為確保捐款用於受災民眾身上,樂施會設有嚴謹的監察和審計制度,所有物資從詢價、採購、派發,均由樂施會工作人員監督,過程公開、公正、透明。

樂施會採購救災物資時,採取三方比價的方式,在保證品質的前提下,盡量節省資金,讓有限資源可以支持更多災民。另外,樂施會與供應商簽訂供貨合同,並直接向供應商付款;發放物資時,領取物資的災民須簽收的記錄名冊(又名花名冊)並在村內標示發放物資的詳情;物資發放後,工作人員會進行回訪,確定災民按質按量收取樂施會援助的物資,並與村民代表及受訪者了解他們對發放程式及標準的意見。

 

另外,樂施會亦自行撥款,為貴州災民提供援助。在貴州省普安縣青山鎮、羅漢鎮,樂施會撥款10萬元人民幣,對當地遭受冰雹災害襲擊的貧困社區災民提供糧食和衛生用品,並已向合共942戶受災家庭提供每戶19公斤的大米一袋,以及每戶一個衛生包,當中包含口罩等防疫與治傷用品,協助他們度過難關。

在貴州省銅仁市和畢節市,樂施會亦撥款55.8萬元人民幣,為銅仁壩黃鎮和畢節大水鄉的4條村、1,215戶逾5,000名受災村民送上救災物資,包括大米、食用油和棉被,解決他們的燃眉之急。

樂施會未來會繼續密切關注災情,與當地的合作夥伴和社區保持聯繫,為有需要的貧困和弱勢群體提供適切的救援協助。