Skip to main content
Start main content

About Us

About us

Building a world without poverty

Oxfam is a worldwide development organisation that mobilises the power of people against poverty.

ABOUT OXFAM

 

Oxfam is an international confederation of 20 affiliates, with an aim to work together for greater impact on the international stage to reduce poverty and injustice. The name ’Oxfam’ is derived from the Oxford Committee for Famine Relief founded in Britain in 1942. Our confederation consists of the following affiliates:

  • Oxfam America
  • Oxfam Australia
  • Oxfam-in-Belgium
  • Oxfam Brasil 
  • Oxfam Canada
  • Oxfam IBIS (Denmark)
  • Oxfam France
  • Oxfam Germany
  • Oxfam Great Britain
  • Oxfam Hong Kong
  • Oxfam India
  • Oxfam Intermón (Spain)
  • Oxfam Ireland
  • Oxfam Italy
  • Oxfam Mexico
  • Oxfam New Zealand
  • Oxfam Novib (Netherlands) 
  • Oxfam-Québec
  • Oxfam South Africa
  • Kadın Emeğini Değerlendirme Vakfı (KEDV- Foundation for the Support of Women's Work, Turkey)

Last year, Oxfam worked together with partners and local communities in more than 60 countries to combat poverty and provide relief support. We implement long-term development programmes in vulnerable communities. We are also part of a global movement, campaigning with others to end unfair trade rules, demand better health and education services for all, and to combat climate change.

ABOUT OXFAM HONG KONG

 

Oxfam Hong Kong dates back to 1976 when volunteers joined hands to form the charitable society, and open a shop for second-hand goods in Hong Kong in the next year to raise funds for anti-poverty projects around the world. Some of our first initiatives in the 1970s and 80s were to advocate for justice for Vietnamese refugees who fled to Hong Kong during the Vietnam War, and to help save lives in Ethiopia during the 1984 famine.

In 1987, we implemented the first programme in mainland China in Guangdong Province. The Oxfam China Development Fund was subsequently established in 1992. Since then, we have been dedicated to fighting poverty in rural and urban areas, carrying out disaster risk reduction and relief work, and advocating for pro-poor policies in the Mainland. In 2017, the 'Law of the People's Republic of China on the Administration of Activities of Overseas Non-Governmental Organizations within the Territory of China' came into effect. We at Oxfam Hong Kong successfully registered several offices, and have been able to carry out our work in 31 provinces, cities and autonomous regions in mainland China.

We set up a domestic programme team in Hong Kong in 1996. In recent years, we have focused more of our efforts on local poverty, and have been advocating for pro-poor policies in Hong Kong. Through the joint efforts of civil society organisations, the Hong Kong SAR government subsequently announced an official poverty line in Hong Kong in 2013. Oxfam has also been a strong advocate of a minimum wage law, and this was first established in Hong Kong in 2011 after decades of advocacy efforts. In 2012, we set up our office in Macau, and in 2014, we started to promote global citizenship and advocate for pro-poor policy changes in Macau. 

Over the years, Oxfam Hong Kong has partnered with millions of underprivileged people to alleviate poverty in more than 70 countries/regions around the world. We have around 100,000 regular donors from the general public. Their donations are the major source of income that sustains our ability to achieve the ultimate goal of a poverty-free world.

The Oxfam Trailwalker, a 100 km hiking fundraiser founded in Hong Kong in the 1980s, continues to be one of our most notable events. The success of this fundraising event has not only raised awareness about poverty and injustice, but has also attracted 14 additional cities to organise their own Oxfam Trailwalker events.

跳往主要内容
开始主要内容

关于乐施会

关于乐施会

消除贫穷

乐施会是一个国际扶贫发展机构,旨在推动民众力量,消除贫穷。

关于乐施会

乐施会是由20个独立组织组成的国际联会,旨在共同推行消除贫困和社会不公的工作,在国际上发挥更大影响力。乐施会的英文名字源自1942年成立的「牛津饥荒救灾委员会」。乐施会国际联会包括以下成员:

  • 美国乐施会
  • 澳洲乐施会
  • 比利时乐施会
  • 巴西乐施会
  • 加拿大乐施会
  • 丹麦乐施会
  • 法国乐施会
  • 德国乐施会
  • 英国乐施会
  • 香港乐施会
  • 印度乐施会
  • 西班牙乐施会
  • 爱尔兰乐施会
  • 意大利乐施会
  • 墨西哥乐施会
  • 新西兰乐施会
  • 荷兰乐施会
  • 魁北克乐施会
  • 南非乐施会
  • 土耳其乐施会

在过去一个年度,乐施会与伙伴一起在超过60个国家的基层社区开展扶贫发展和救灾工作。除了在脆弱社区推行长期发展项目,同时开展全球倡议运动,致力于改变不公平的贸易规则、提倡改善与普及医疗和教育服务,以及推动应对气候变化等。

关于香港乐施会

香港乐施会的历史可追溯到1976年,当时一群义工组织在一起,并在翌年开设二手商店,为世界各地的扶贫工作筹款。在1970、1980年代,香港乐施会初期的工作包括倡议以公义原则对待因越战来港的越南难民,以及在1984年向埃塞俄比亚的饥荒灾民伸出援手。

1987年,香港乐施会在中国内地开展工作,于广东省推行首个项目。1992年设立中国发展基金。自此,我们一直致力在内地开展扶贫工作,从推动农村发展与灾害管理,开展紧急救援工作,以至推行城市生计发展及倡议项目。2017年,《中华人民共和国境外非政府组织境内活动管理法》正式实施,香港乐施会在内地多个办事处先后成功注册,可以合法在内地31个省市自治区开展工作。

在1996年香港乐施会成立香港项目部,近年,我们更加重视本地贫穷问题,倡议香港政府推行多项扶贫政策。在公民社会的共同努力下,香港于2011年首次设立法定最低工资,香港特区政府于2013年制定官方贫穷线。我们于2012年在澳门成立办事处,自2014年开始,在澳门推动世界公民教育工作及扶贫政策倡议的工作。

过去多年,我们在超过70个国家及地区与贫穷人携手合作,让贫困社区的民众能够提升能力,改善生计。我们有约10万名定期捐款者,他们的捐款是我们的主要收入来源,支持实现无穷世界的终极目标。

我们在1980年代起在香港举办100公里徒步远足筹款活动「乐施毅行者」,这是乐施会最著名的大型活动之一。这项活动不仅加深公众对贫穷和不公义议题的认识,更成功拓展至全球,至今有14个城市在当地筹办「乐施毅行者」。