SHARE THIS
Copy the link and open WeChat to share

Open Wechat

Irene has been a member of the Kabwadu Women’s Farming Group for six years. In that time, she has gone from working as a labourer on the local commercial farm, to being a co-producer at an award-winning Oxfam-supported banana farm. (Photo: Abbie Trayler-Smith / Oxfam) 

Oxfam in Zambia

Oxfam has been working in Zambia since the early 1980s. Working with partners and stakeholders, our programmes include developing sustainable livelihoods within the context of HIV and AIDS, health and education, water and sanitation, and strengthening community capacity to cope with disasters.  

Changing lives with chilli

‘Before joining this project, I was suffering to make ends meet at home since I am keeping my children and other orphans. I tried to do several businesses which all failed.’

Low productivity and the lack of market access have made growing crops and earning a living very difficult in Zambia. With our chilli project though, things are changing for participants like 56-year-old Musangu Tololi.

She told us: ‘Before joining this project, I was suffering to make ends meet at home since I am keeping my children and other orphans. I tried to do several businesses which all failed … I even tried selling some beer, but the beer business was not easy. When I heard about this chilli project, I decided to join the group.

‘We were given pipes, solar panels, chilli and vegetable seeds. We also received some training on how to farm chilli and other horticultural products. With the new knowledge I acquired, I am able to farm on my own with minimal supervision. In my first year, I managed to sell about 17 kg of chilli and this earned me a total of 700 kwacha (HK$583*).’

Besides providing the tools and training needed to produce and sell chilli, Oxfam and its local partner ASNAPP are also increasing farmers’ market access so that they can sell their products at a better price.

‘I am practically a breadwinner at home with a lot of dependants,’ Musangu said. ‘My most significant change is that I have managed to take my dependants to school. Our household income has increased as both my husband and I are able to provide for the home.’

*According to the exchange rate at the time this was written

Photo: ASNAPP-Zambia and Oxfam

分享
Copy the link and open WeChat to share

Open Wechat

  • 艾蓮成為婦女耕作組 (Kabwadu Women’s Farming Group) 的一員超過六年,她憑著在當地農田的工作經驗,成為了樂施會蕉園的共同生產者。(相片:Abbie Trayler-Smith / 樂施會)
  •  

樂施會在贊比亞

樂施會早於自1980年初在贊比亞開展扶貧工作。我們與合作夥伴一同推動可持續的生計項目,在當地推行防治愛滋病的工作、健康及教育、食水及衛生,以加強社群應對天災的能力。 

先辣後甜

「在加入辣椒種植小組前,我的收入捉襟見肘,生活困難。我試過做不同的小生意,但都失敗告終。」

農地生產力不足,加上市場資訊不流通,令贊比亞的農民生計十分困難。為了改善當地農民的生活,樂施會在當地推動辣椒種植項目。很多農民在參與項目後生活都起著變化。 56歲的圖魯麗(Musangu Tololi)就是其中一個例子。

圖魯麗跟我們說:「我需要賺錢養家來照顧自己的孩子和收養的孤兒。在加入辣椒種植小組前,我的收入捉襟見肘,生活困難。我試過做不同的小生意,但都失敗告終...... 我甚至試過賣啤酒,但生意並不好。當我聽到這個項目時,我就決定加入。」

「參與項目後,我們獲派發水管、太陽能發電板、辣椒及蔬菜種子。我們亦得到有關種植辣椒和其他園藝植物的培訓。我學到的知識,加上這些訓練,我能夠在很少的指導下自己種植辣椒。在第一年,我靠售出約17公斤的辣椒賺到700克瓦查(583港元*)的收入。」

「我是家庭的經濟支柱,我需要養活多名家人。參與項目帶給我最重要的改變是,我有能力送我的子女到學校讀書。現在,我和丈夫都有收入,整個家庭的收入因而增加了。」

除了向農民提供生產和銷售辣椒所需的工具和培訓外,樂施會以及我們在當地的合作夥伴ASNAPP也為農民提供市場資訊,加強他們與市場的連繫,令他們能以更好的價格出售農產品,生計得以改善。

*根據文章完成時的兌換率。

攝影:ASNAPP-Zambia及樂施會