Skip to main content
Start main content
Bangladesh

A major part of our work in Bangladesh is devoted to gender justice. Gender stereotypes, child marriage, sexual violence and other issues make it less likely for women to participate in the economy than men. We promote gender equality by providing women with skills training. The women's group pictured here has stopped seven cases of child marriage; some members have even moved elsewhere to earn a living for themselves and stand on their own two feet. (Photo: Tetris Luk / Oxfam volunteer photographer)

 

Oxfam in Bangladesh

Oxfam’s involvement in Bangladesh began in 1970 when it assisted the then cyclone victims and supported the displaced people of Bangladesh during the Liberation War in 1971. In recognition of our work in 1971, Oxfam was one of only three organisations honoured as a Friend of the Bangladesh Liberation War in 2012.  

 

FAIR TAXES: THE CURE FOR THE LACK OF HEALTH CARE

I spend sleepless nights worrying about the children getting sick. The treatment is so expensive. Should I buy medicine for my children, or should I buy food to feed my family?

'I spend sleepless nights worrying about the children getting sick. The treatment is so expensive. Should I buy medicine for my children, or should I buy food to feed my family?'

Rasheda (pictured), 24, a young mother of two who lives with her husband and mother-in-law in a shack in an industrial area of Chittagong in south-eastern Bangladesh

 

Waste, garbage and polluted water runs down the side of our house. It’s an eyesore,’ Rasheda (pictured), 24, said. The young mother of two lives with her husband and mother-in-law in a shack in an industrial area of Chittagong in south-eastern Bangladesh. ‘We even see faeces floating on the water,’ she continued. ‘Because of this, the whole family is often sick, especially with diarrhoea. The children suffer from diarrhoea the most.

‘I spend sleepless nights worrying about the children getting sick. The treatment is so expensive. My husband earns about 10,000 taka (roughly HK$922) a month as a driver; 10,000 taka is not enough for a family of five to live on. Should I buy medicine for my children, or should I buy food to feed my family?’ Unfortunately, many families like Rasheda’s struggle with the same question.

Rasheda’s shack is surrounded by factories, some of which belong to multinational companies. However, they often take advantage of cheap labour in Bangladesh and make outrageously large sums without paying their fair share of tax in Bangladesh by transferring their profits to countries with low tax rates. However, to countless families in developing countries like Rasheda’s, corporate taxes are essential as they help fund public services.

Oxfam’s research has found that Bangladesh is collecting much less tax than it could be and a portion should be coming from companies. Oxfam is thus working with SUPRO, a Bangladeshi network of civil society organisations to call for a fairer tax system and a crackdown on corporate tax dodging so that the government has the revenue to invest in essential services like healthcare.

Together, Oxfam has been creating opportunities for national dialogue wherein we urge the government to adopt a progressive tax system. We also support community-based organisations’ active participation in the budgetary process to hold local governments accountable. On the ground, we’re also piloting projects like the use of water vending machines that are run by community-based organisations in poor residential areas to ensure access to clean water at an affordable price.

By tackling the problems people like Rasheda face by getting to the root cause to bring about long-term structural change and easing the symptoms to meet immediate needs, we hope families like Rasheda’s are able to thrive and not just survive.

 
Rasheda and her children at home

Rasheda Begum doing the laundry in her yard, beside an open sewer. (Photo: GMB Akash)

Rasheda and her children at home

Rasheda Begum stands outside the communal toilet used by up to 15 adults in the shared yard of her home. She believes it’s too unhygienic for her children to use. (Photo: GMB Akash)

Open waste in slum area of Chittagong

A channel of filthy waste runs through the narrow yard where they bathe, prepare meals and wash and dry their clothes. In rainy season this overflows, flooding their homes. (Photo: GMB Akash)

 

I am independent

 It's not even close to being luxurious, but it means I am independent.

'Look aronud you, it’s not even close to being luxurious, but it means I am independent.' 

Marium, participant of Oxfam's Economic Empowerment, Climate Change Adaption, Leadership and Learning (REE-CALL) programme

 

In poor communities like Bangladesh’s Sehakathi Village, we’re empowering villagers socially and economically. Through our Resilience through Economic Empowerment, Climate Change Adaption, Leadership and Learning (REE-CALL) programme, we’re helping villagers form community-based organisations (CBOs), encouraging women to be leaders and helping villagers know their rights.

Marium Begum Moyuri stands proud having benefited from this programme, despite the difficulties she’s been through. ‘I was more or less destitute after my husband’s disappearance [seven days after the birth of my second child],’ Marium said speaking about her past. ‘My second marriage was nothing short of a nightmare. From beating me in public to psychologically abusing me, there was very little harm that [my second husband] didn’t expose me to … he too [eventually] vanished [so] I lived on other people’s grace.

‘It was around this time that I came to know about the REE-CALL project in the area … This was a major turning point in my life. I discussed with the CBO members and decided I had the skills to start and run a tea shop. So I received asset support to set up the shop and buy the necessary materials. It was the first time in my life I felt like I was taking control of my life. I was the one who was making the decisions that concerned me and my daughter.'

‘I also received trainings on life skills and business management from REE-CALL. My business took off and slowly I started to rebuild my life. Within seven months [though], I lost most of my shop in an overnight act of thievery. I didn’t have enough savings by then to reinvest … But surprisingly, this time I didn’t feel despair. Since, becoming a member of CBO, I had a better appreciation of my abilities and rights, first as a human being and then as a woman. I knew I was not alone anymore. I talked to the CBO again. They sympathised with my predicament and gave me some complementary cash from the REE-CALL project to restock my shop.’ Through these CBOs, villagers like Marium can rest assured knowing that they have the support of others, even when disasters strike.

‘Look around you,’ Marium said inviting us to look around her shop, ‘it’s not even close to being luxurious, but it means I am independent.’

Marium and other villagers

We're helping villagers in poor communities like Bangladesh's Sehakathi Village form community-based organisations, encouraging women to be leaders and helping villagers know their rights. (Photo: Ashish Kumar Bakshi/Oxfam in Bangladesh)

跳往主要內容
開始主要內容
孟加拉

性別公正是樂施會在孟加拉工作的一大重點,性別定型、童婚、性暴力等問題令女性參與經濟的機會比男性更少,我們透過培訓提升女性技能,推動兩性平等。相中的婦女小組成功阻止了7宗童婚,不少成員更嘗試外出工作,自立自強。(攝影︰陸永銓 / 樂施會義務攝影師)

 

樂施會在孟加拉

樂施會於70年代開始在孟加拉展開工作,當時主要是協助受颶風影響的災民,以及支持1971年解放戰爭時期國內流離失所的人民。

 

公平稅制:醫療服務不足的解決之道

我常常因為擔心子女生病而失眠,醫療費實在太昂貴了。我應該把這筆收入用作購買藥物,還是為全家購買糧食呢?

「我常常因為擔心子女生病而失眠,醫療費實在太昂貴了。我的丈夫任職司機,每月收入只有大約一萬塔卡(約922港元);但這並不足以養活一家五口。我應該把這筆收入用作購買藥物,還是為全家購買糧食呢?」

-孟加拉東南部吉大港市工業區棚屋居民Rasheda

 

「廢物、垃圾和污水遍佈我家四周,令人難以忍受,我們還曾經見過污水上漂浮著便溺物。」24歲的Rasheda(右圖)與丈夫、婆婆和兩個子女住在孟加拉東南部吉大港市工業區的一個棚屋內。她續道:「我們全家人經常生病,孩子們經常肚瀉。」

Rasheda說:「我常常因為擔心子女生病而失眠,醫療費實在太昂貴了。我的丈夫任職司機,每月收入只有大約一萬塔卡(約922港元);但這並不足以養活一家五口。我應該把這筆收入用作購買藥物,還是為全家購買糧食呢?」在孟加拉,有很多家庭每日都像Rasheda的家庭一樣,面對著這些兩難。

Rasheda的棚屋四周都是工廠,部分工廠由跨國企業擁有。這些企業一方面利用孟加拉的廉價勞工賺取暴利,另一方面卻把大部分盈利轉移至其他低稅率國家,沒有向孟加拉政府繳交其應該承擔的稅款。對很多發展中國家如孟加拉而言,企業繳交的稅款是政府提供公營服務的重要資金來源。因此,建設公平稅制,以支持政府完善公共醫療服務,對很多像Rasheda的家庭來說非常重要。

樂施會的研究發現,孟加拉實際的稅收遠少於其可收取的數額,包括對跨國企業的稅收。因此,在 國 際 方 面,樂 施 會 開 展 了 一 個 名 為「實 現平等」的全球倡議運動,要求各國政府推出足夠的法規和行政措施確保企業稅務透明,打擊跨境逃稅避稅。

在國家層面,我們與名為SUPRO的孟加拉公民社會組織網絡攜手合作,積極為民間團體與其他重要持分者創造交流意見的機會,促請政府制定更公平的稅制,並採用能者多付的累進稅制,將徵得的稅收更好地投放在醫療保健等大眾所需的公共基礎服務上。

在社區方面,樂施會亦一直支持不同的公民團體參與政府的財政預算編製過程,以促使地方政府對地區發展負責。我們亦在貧困社區試行不同項目,例如引入由社區組織營辦的飲用水販賣機,以確保民眾可以實惠的價錢取得清潔食水。

我們針對問題的根源進行分析,期望為社會整體帶來長遠的結構性改變,並同時為社區提供多項即時的應對方案。我希望所有像Rasheda一家的弱勢家庭都能夠分享到國家經濟發展的成果,生活質素能夠有所改善,毋須再日復日在惡劣環境中掙扎求存。

 
Rasheda and her children at home

工業區內的棚屋大多沒有安裝水管,居民需要蹲在污水渠的兩旁洗衣服。(攝影:GMB Akash)

Rasheda and her children at home

Rasheda家中沒有獨立洗手間,需要與約15名鄰居共用一個公共洗手間。(攝影:GMB Akash)

Open waste in slum area of Chittagong

棚屋內沒有安裝水管,公用取水處經常大排長龍,居民會在水渠旁邊洗澡、洗衣服和預備食物,衛生情況惡劣。另外,城內排污設備未臻完善,雨季時,污水渠淤塞的情況時有發生,溢出的污水會連同雜物湧入棚屋,惡劣的衛生環境危害居民健康。(攝影:GMB Akash)

 

我能獨立地過活

看看這裡,茶館雖然簡陋,但對我來說卻意味著我能獨立地生活。

「看看這裡,茶館雖然簡陋,但卻代表了我能獨立地生活。」

-孟加拉農村婦女Marium Begum Moyuri

 

Marium Begum Moyuri生活在孟加拉的貧困社區Sehakathi村,談起過去充滿辛酸,「我婚前已經很窮。在第二名孩子出生後七天, 我第一任丈夫就失蹤了。當時,我幾乎是一貧如洗。我的第二段婚姻同樣是一場噩夢,第二任丈夫讓我受盡傷害,他在公眾場合打我,又心理上虐待我。他最終亦失蹤,而我就只好再投靠別人。」

「在我最需要幫忙時,我認識了REE-CALL項目,這可以說是我人生的另一個轉捩點。社區組織的成員跟我討論我的情況,他們肯定我以往的銷售經驗,認為我有能力嘗試開辦一間茶館。REE-CALL項目給予我物資上的援助,協助我購買創業必需的材料,令我能開辦這間茶館。這是我第一次感到我能掌握我的人生,為自己和我的女兒作出重要的決定。」

在孟加拉的貧困社區Sehakathi村,樂施會正開展一個綜合發展項目(REE-CALL),讓村民得到社會和經濟上的賦權,項目透過社區經濟活動,幫助村民更有能力應對氣候變化,又提供領導培訓和學習,協助村民組織社區組織,鼓勵婦女擔任領導,幫助村民認識自己的權利。Marium是該項目的其中一名參與者,儘管要面對種種困難,她最終亦從項目中得到極大的幫助。

「REE-CALL項目為我提供生活技能及業務管理方面的培訓。隨著生意慢慢好起來,我亦開始重建我的生活。雖然開業七個月內發生的一次盜竊,令我在一夜之間失去了茶館大部分的物資,我亦缺乏儲蓄來再投資。但驚訝地,這次我並沒有因為逆境而感到絕望。事實上,自從加入社區組織後,我對自己的能力有更大的信心,並認識到自己作為一個人,作為一個女性的權利。我知道我並不孤單。我再次向社區組織求助,他們十分明白我的困境,並讓我從REE-CALL項目獲得現金援助,令我能為茶館再次購入所需的物資。」

社區組織讓像Marium般的村民知道,即使災難發生,他們都會得到社區的支援。Marium邀請我們參觀她的茶館,並說:「看看這裡,茶館雖然簡陋,但對我來說卻意味著我能獨立地生活。」

樂施會在孟加拉國的貧困社區協助村民建立社區組織,鼓勵女性擔任領導,幫助村民認識自己的權利。

樂施會在孟加拉國的貧困社區協助村民建立社區組織,鼓勵女性擔任領導,幫助村民認識自己的權利。(攝影:Ashish Kumar Bakshi / 樂施會孟加拉辦公室)

 

Oxfam’s Picks