SHARE THIS
Copy the link and open WeChat to share

Open Wechat

Oxfam beneficiaries from the Dadeldhura district of Western Nepal who have participated in the livelihoods programme in the area hold some of the products they have produced. (Photo: Jisu Mok / Oxfam) 

Oxfam in Nepal

Oxfam has been working in Nepal since the 1980s, addressing the poverty and injustices faced by women and other socially excluded groups through a variety of projects. We work to reduce poverty in Nepal and improve the well-being of vulnerable people by strengthening their participation in development and governance processes, and pushing for economic, social, institutional and policy changes.

Building back better

‘Now we can sell cold drinks to villagers and our daily profit has increased by 30 to 40 per cent.’

On 25 April, 2015, a magnitude 7.8 earthquake devastated Nepal and claimed the lives of close to 9,000 people. Over 8 million people across 31 districts were affected and more than 850,000 houses were damaged or destroyed.

Since then, we at Oxfam have been working in seven of the worst-affected districts: Lalitpur, Bhaktapur, Kathmandu, Sindhupalchok, Dhading, Gorkha and Nuwakot. Besides responding to survivors’ immediate needs with things like emergency shelter and clean water, we also provided farmers with seeds and agricultural tools to help them resume their livelihoods.

At Shree Achaneh Secondary School in the village of Tripureshewor, Dhading, we helped form a Water, Sanitation and Hygiene (WASH) association. ‘Without sanitation, we will suffer from different types of disease, like malaria and diarrhea. People will die sooner. Sanitation can change people’s lives,’ said Amib Adhikari, a member of the association.

In Bhirkat and Ghattekhola villages of the Kathmandu Valley – two villages severely affected by the earthquake – we not only built latrines and showers, but also provided multi-purpose grants to assist survivors. With this support, Sanju Lama and her husband Shakti Lama were able to resume their livelihoods again. The earthquake damaged their store, but with our grant, Sanju told us that they had the resources to buy a fridge and get their store up and running again: ‘Now we can sell cold drinks to villagers and our daily profit has increased by 30 to 40 per cent.’

Oxfam is now focusing on longer-term recovery and ensuring that this work meets people’s needs, both now and in the future. This work includes everything from providing sustainable water and sanitation facilities to training people to rehabilitate existing businesses.

Photo: Aubrey Wade / Oxfam

Photo: Meanna Yeung / Oxfam

分享
Copy the link and open WeChat to share

Open Wechat

  • 得到樂施會生計項目的支持,尼泊爾西部登代爾圖拉地區的村民展示他們的農產。(相片:Jisu Mok / 樂施會)
  •   

樂施會在尼泊爾

我們自1980年代起在尼泊爾開展扶貧工作,項目主要集中在婦女及其他被社會排斥的社群。透過加強弱勢社群在社會發展及政策制訂的參與,推動經濟、社會、體制及政策方面的改變,從而令更多貧窮人脫貧,改善其生活環境。

重建美好的生活

「現在我們向村民出售冷飲,每日賺到的利潤更較地震前增加30%至 40%。」

2015年4月25日,尼泊爾發生7.8級地震,奪走近9,000條寶貴生命,尼泊爾全國受地震波及的地區達31個,受影響人數達800多萬,超過85萬間房屋遭破壞或摧毀。

地震發生後,樂施會一直在七個災情最嚴重的地區開展救災及重建工作,分別為拉利圖爾、巴克塔普爾、加德滿都,辛德帕霍奇、達哈德、戈爾哈和努瓦克特。除了為災民提供清潔食水和帳幕等緊急援助外,我們還為農民提供種子及新耕具,幫助他們恢復生計。

在達哈德區的Tripureshewor村,我們協助該村的Shree Achaneh中學成立「供水、環境衛生及衛生促進(WASH)」協會,其中一名會員Amib Adhikari說:「衛生不好,人就會很易感染到瘧疾、腹瀉等傳染病,甚至會因染病而過早死去。可以說,環境衛生的好壞影響著人的生活。」

位於加德滿都谷的Bhirkat和Ghattekhola兩條農村,被地震嚴重破壞。我們不僅在那裡興建廁所及淋浴設施,還向災民提供現金補貼,讓他們買到急需的東西。Sanju Lama和丈夫Shakti Lama 就是靠這些補貼而恢復部分生計。地震破壞了他們的小商店,Sanju說:「我們利用現金補貼買了一台新電冰箱,小商店亦得以重新開業,現在我們向村民出售冷飲,每日賺到的利潤更較地震前增加30%至 40%。」

樂施會現階段的主要工作是協助災民恢復生計,這包括為災民提供清潔食水和衛生設施,培訓合適的人員,以至幫助村民恢復舊有的業務。我們的目標是培養災民具備可持續的生計復元能力,令他們無論短期的還是長遠的生計需要都得到滿足。

攝影:Aubrey Wade / 樂施會

攝影:楊允祈 / 樂施會