SHARE THIS
Copy the link and open WeChat to share

Open Wechat

Annie Nangawiri with one of the goats she received from Oxfam Unwrapped. These goats provide milk to drink and sell, fertiliser for crops and kids to sell at the market. 'We got our first goat in 2003 and it had two kids. The next year it gave birth to two more. We use the manure to help us grow better maize and more vegetables.' (Photo: Abbie Trayler-Smith / Oxfam)

  • Population: 18 million (July 2015 est.)
  • Human Development Index: 173 (among 188 countries)
  • GDP per capita: US $1,100 (2014 est.)
  • Population below poverty line: 50.7% (2010 est.)

Source: CIA – The World Factbook (as of 30 December, 2015), Human Development Report 2015, World Bank

 

Oxfam in Malawi

Oxfam has worked in Malawi for over 20 years. Our programme has evolved from Oxfam working directly with communities and helping local organisations to get established, to a more self-sustaining 'partner-led' approach. We work in the districts of Phalombe, Thyolo, Blantyre, Chiradzulu and Balaka. In 2013-14, Oxfam's work benefited 90,000 people in Malawi.

 

Our work's focus

Economic justice – Develop sustainable livelihoods and promote markets for small scale sectors.
Health – Ensure that marginalised people with HIV and AIDS have access to essential health services.
Humanitarian response – Enhance community members’ disaster preparedness capacity and build their resilience through multi-faceted initiatives combining livelihood support and climate change adaptation.
Gender justice – Provide training on gender sensitive land laws, human rights, women development, and empower women to fight for their rights, and ensure that their rights are protected.

 

Impact of our work

'Oxfam came to give me some fertiliser and tools. I received good quality seeds and we are able to sell tomatoes for more [now].'

Dorothy has received seeds, tools and training from Oxfam which helped her to grow better and a greater variety of crops. Now, she earns a living by selling the harvest. She plans to open a small kiosk shop and make improvements to her family's livelihood.

Oxfam’s vegetable project in the rural areas of Chiradzulu aims to help the most vulnerable families adapt and build resilience to changing weather patterns, enabling them to meet their needs all year round. We do this by providing fertiliser, tools and seeds as well as training in new agriculture and basic marketing techniques. The project will also help provide new ways of generating income by distributing livestock such as pigs.

分享
Copy the link and open WeChat to share

Open Wechat

受惠於「樂施有禮」,Annie Nangawiri收到數隻羊維持生計,讓她可以到市場售賣羊奶,同時供孩子飲用。「2003年,我收到我們家的第一隻羊,和兩隻小羊。次年,牠再誕下兩隻羊。我們施肥,增加玉米和蔬菜的收成。」 (攝影:Abbie Trayler-Smith / 樂施會)

  • 人口:1800萬 (2015年7月估算)
  • 人類發展指數排名:173位 (於188個國家當中)
  • 人均國內生產總值:1,100美元 (2014年估算)
  • 活在貧窮線下的人口比率 (以該國政府設立的貧窮線計算):50.7% (2010年估算)

資料來源:世界概況 (截至2016年1月7日);亞洲開發銀行-基本統計數據(2015年);世界銀行

 

樂施會在馬拉維

樂施會在馬拉維推行扶貧工作已超過20年。我們的項目由一開始由樂施會向受助人提供「直接服務」,演變至今天的「合作夥伴主導」的工作手法。工作項目主要集中在法隆貝 (Phalombe)、蒂約羅(Thyolo)、布蘭太爾(Blantyre)、奇拉朱盧(Chiradzulu)和巴拉卡(Balaka)。在2013至2014年,樂施會幫助了90,000名當地居民。

 

重點工作:

經濟公義

開發可持續的生計碰目及推廣小本經營的市場模式

醫療

確保感染愛滋病毒而被邊緣化的居民能接受醫療服務

災害管理

多方面提升居民的備災能力,增加抗災能力,結合生計支援及適應氣候變化

社會性別公義

在土地法律、人權、婦女發展等方面提供性別認知的訓練,為婦女賦權,從而確保他們的權利得到保護

 

為受助人帶來改變:

「我從樂施會取得肥料及耕作工具,也收到高質素的種子,種植出來的蕃茄能賣出個好價錢。」

Dorothy從樂施會取得種子、工具及上了培訓班,為更好的收成提供了更佳的種植條件。透過出售作物,她可自給自足。她更計劃經營一家小店,為她和家人帶來更好的生活。

在奇拉朱盧,樂施會的蔬菜種植計劃幫助了最弱勢的一群,讓他們全年均可以適應氣候變化及抗災能力。藉著提供肥料、工具、種子、種植培訓、基本銷售原理。這計劃為居民提供維持生計的新收入渠道,如向居民提供牲畜(例如豬隻)。