SHARE THIS
Copy the link and open WeChat to share

Open Wechat

Oxfam aims to improve people's access to land, forests and water for rural communities so that they can ensure their sustainable livelihoods. To achieve this, it is necessary to make the voices of women and men in rural communities heard when decisions are being made about natural resource management and food security. (Photo: Oxfam in Laos) 

Oxfam in Laos

Oxfam started working in Laos towards the end of the 1980s; we partnered with government agencies and local authorities to implement livelihoods programmes for vulnerable communities. After the end of the Cold War, Oxfam increasingly improved the capacity of civil society organisations to dialogue on an equal footing with the government and the private sector. Since 2013, 23 villages in the regions of Kasi and Hom, Laos, have been better equipped to deal with earthquakes and floods, with the help of Oxfam.

Creating a win-win situation

‘I make money from selling tea … I can send three kids to school and have enough food and clothes for them.’

Foreign Direct Investment (FDI) has been pouring into Laos in recent years. In Sehopene – a village in the northernmost district of Nhot Ou – farmers have witnessed how FDI in tea production has diversified and improved their livelihoods, which used to rely mainly on subsistence rice farming.

‘I make money from selling tea … I can send three kids to school and have enough food and clothes for them,’ said 36-year-old mum Samor. ‘Our family does not have problem with shortage of rice even though we did not plant the rice any longer; we buy rice from the money we get from selling tea product,’ she said with a bright smile.

Despite how FDI has borne fruit in the lives of some tea farmers, it remains a double-edged sword. For example, without official recognition and the protection of farmers’ customary rights to communal forests – ones that locals have been using for generations – it’s difficult to ensure the sustainability of FDI’s positive impacts. The forests could instead be granted to other investors to grow single crop like bananas – a move that would damage the environment that the local livelihoods depend on.

To ensure a win-win situation for both investors and locals, an enabling environment for responsible FDI needs to be established. Oxfam and the European Union have been supporting Comité de Coopération avec Laos (CCL), our partner in the country, to map out wild tea forest areas to enable the recognition of their customary rights and ensure the sustainable management of forest resources. We’re also providing these farmers with the advocacy tools and technical know-how to improve their livelihoods, such as better access to market information.

分享
Copy the link and open WeChat to share

Open Wechat

樂施會旨在於改善農村社會對土地、森林和食水的使用權利,確保他們能維持可持續的生活。要達致這個目標,我們有需要增加農村居民在管理自然資源和糧食安全決策上的影響力。(圖:老撾樂施會) 

樂施會在老撾

樂施會早於1980年代末在老撾與地方政府及民間組織合作,開展生計項目,協助改善當地居民的生活狀況。冷戰結束後,樂施會致力提升民間組織與政府及私人企業平等對話的能力。自2013年起,在樂施會的努力下,23條位於老撾的Kasi和Hom的村落均有更好的配備預防地震和水災。

創造雙贏

「我售賣茶葉賺到的錢足夠支持三個孩子上學,以及為他們提供足夠的食物和衣服。」

近年,外國直接投資 (Foreign Direct Investment)不斷湧入老撾。在老撾最北部約烏地區一條名叫Sehopene的村莊,當地農民傳統上都是依靠種植水稻自給自足。自從外國投資者開始投資茶葉種植後,農民的收入來源變得多樣化,生計亦大為改善。

36歲的莎模(Samor)太太笑著說:「我售賣茶葉賺到的錢足夠支持三個孩子上學,以及為他們提供足夠的食物和衣服。即使不再種稻米,單用賣茶賺來的錢買米,我們也沒有糧食短缺的問題。」

儘管外國直接投資能改善部分茶農的生活,但仍然是一把雙刃劍。老撾農民世代賴以生存和生活的森林,由於政府仍沒有承認和保障農民使用社區森林的權利,因而難以確保外國直接投資對農民帶來的正面影響能夠持續下去。例如,這些社區森林可能隨時被其他外國投資者改作種植單一作物(如香蕉) 。這種種植方法會對當地人賴以為生的自然環境帶來破壞,影響他們的長遠生計。

因此,要確保外來投資者和當地農民能達致雙贏局面,投資接收國必須建立健全的投資環境,讓外國投資者成為負責任的企業。樂施會和歐盟一直支持在老撾的合作夥伴Comité de Coopération avec Laos (CCL),協助當地社區確立和記錄野生茶林的位置和面積等資料,以保障其對森林資源的既有權益,並做到可持續的管理。我們的工作策略是,一方面提高農民對土地權益的認識,並同時為他們提供改善生計的技術,和更好地獲取市場訊息。

攝影:Syviengkeo Bounlutay / 樂施會

攝影:Anthony Gueguen / CCL