Cyclone in India

Cyclone Phailin in India

Copy the link and open WeChat to share

Open Wechat

Update: 5 December, 2013

Situation Update

Hundreds of thousands of people have been evacuated as the huge cyclone Phailin hit Indian’s coast on 12 October. It is the strongest cyclone to hit India in 14 years, killing 36 people according to government report. Phailin made landfall in the heavily populated Odisha coast, and the heavy rains brought by the cyclone led to flooding, causing a second crisis in some more districts, in particular the Balasore and Kendrapara district.

  • Over 1.2 million people need immediate assistance
  • Over 370,000 houses have been seriously damaged
  • Over 650,000 hectares of crop damaged

People have now returned to their villages that have been extensively damaged. There is an urgent need for food, shelter, water and power supply. There are also concerns about hygiene and sanitation conditions in particular after the floods set in post cyclone. 

Oxfam’s Response

Oxfam India is responding to provide immediate humanitarian assistance to 18,000 cyclone and flood affected households in Purim Ganjam and Balasoure districts through provision of food aid, water and sanitation facilities, public health services and temporary shelter materials by the end of March 2014.

In its scale up programme, Oxfam India plans to reach out to 78,000 people through 12,000 households in Ganjam, Puri and Balasore districts with its partners Solar, United Artists Association, Unnayan and Pallishree and provide shelter, food, wash and health needs of the affected people.

Oxfam Hong Kong committed to support Oxfam India at a budget of INR 1,200,000 (around HK$150,000) for provision of 30 days food ration as supplementary food need to 800 households in Ganjam, Puri and Balasaore districts in Odisha.

印度風災

印度風災

分享
Copy the link and open WeChat to share

Open Wechat

2013年12月5日更新

印度於10月12日遭受氣旋斐林侵襲,造成大規模破壞,數百萬人受災。斐林是14年來吹襲印度的最強熱帶氣旋,政府報告稱造成36人死亡。斐林在人口稠密的奧里薩省海岸登陸,帶來的豪雨亦令不少地區水浸,其中Balasore 及 Kendrapara 地區受災最嚴重。

  • 超過120 萬人亟待救援
  • 超過37萬間房屋嚴重破壞
  • 超過65 萬公頃農作物損毀

風災過後,災民逐步重返遭嚴重破壞的家園,正急需食物、居所、食水和電力供應。氣旋造成水浸的地區,衛生情況亦令人擔憂。

樂施會救援情況

印度樂施會迅速評估災情,現正為Purim Ganjam 及 Balasoure 地區受風災和水浸影響的18,000 戶提供食物援助、清水、衛生設施、公共衛生服務和搭建臨時居所的材料。計劃於2014年3月底前完成。

至於下一階段的救災工作,印度樂施會計劃與合作夥伴Solar, United Artists Association, Unnayan 及 Pallishree 為Ganjam, Puri 及 Balasore 地區的12,000 戶共78,000名災民提供居所、食物、清水和衛生設施。

香港樂施會支援印度樂施會的救災工作,承諾撥款1,200 萬印度盧比(約港幣15 萬元) ,為奧裡薩省的Ganjam, Puri 及 Balasaore 地區的800 戶提供30日的糧食補給。