SHARE THIS
Copy the link and open WeChat to share

Open Wechat

Women like Kunta Devi, 54, have been standing up to violence against women: ‘Women should step up and speak up against violence. There is a belief in India that a husband feeds his wife and therefore he has the right to do anything he wants to her, including beating her. But we do a lot of work to support the family. So, we deserve their respect.’ (Photo: Ricky Wong / Oxfam Volunteer Photographer) 

Oxfam in India

Oxfam India works to address the root causes of poverty and inequality. We see poverty as a problem where people are deprived of opportunities, choices, resources, knowledge and protection, and this leaves them excluded from the decision-making process.

Oxfam started operations in India since 1951. We work to bring change in people's lives by aiming for wider structural changes. 

Fighting for gender equality

‘I saw wrestling as an opportunity to make my parents proud – and show my strength as a girl.’

In 2016, Oxfam and partner Samarth Foundation introduced sports in five schools to encourage children to go to school. This was a huge draw for children. Though parents were slow to warm up to the idea, they eventually saw the value of this initiative as it improved their children’s physical wellbeing, and it helped them see that their girls could excel at sports – something generally limited to boys – and bring honour to their village.

Despite her young age, Komal from Uttar Pradesh in northern India has already faced a lifetime of discrimination. By using sports to challenge the belief that girls are worth less than boys, she’s fighting for gender equality and addressing one of the root causes of violence against women and girls.

‘Right from childhood, girls like me are taught to accept that men and boys are superior to them. In my district, we aren’t allowed to be educated like boys. Instead, our role is to take care of younger siblings and household chores – training us for our main role, as a wife. Once married, most girls around here face domestic violence as we’re just not seen as equal.

‘I saw wrestling as an opportunity to make my parents proud – and show my strength as a girl. I knew my family and I would face discrimination, but I think all girls should get the same opportunities to participate in sports as the boys.

‘With the support of my teacher, my parents let me compete and I won the silver medal in a state competition. I proved to my community that girls can succeed!

‘My mother especially is really proud. She hopes my future will be full of more opportunities than she had. ‘Everyone should treat both male and female members equally – and I will continue to fight for this.’

Photo: Oxfam India

分享
Copy the link and open WeChat to share

Open Wechat

  • 54歲的Kunta Devi像很多印度婦女一樣,致力消除針對女性的暴力。「女性應挺身而出,向暴力說不。印度社會認為丈夫只要賺錢養家,就可以任意對待妻子,包括打她。但女性為家庭也做了很多工作,我們應該得到尊重。」(攝影:黃嘉慶 / 樂施會義務攝影師) 
  •  

樂施會在印度

印度樂施會推展扶貧項目,以針對貧窮及不公平的根源。我們認為,貧窮是由於人的獲得的機會、選擇、資源、知識、保障被剝奪,令他們無法參與在政策制訂的過程。樂施會早於1951年在印度開展扶貧工作。

我們的工作集中在結構或制度上的改善,為人民的生活帶來結構性的改變。

為性別平等而摔跤

「玩摔跤讓我表現出女孩的力量,亦讓父母感到自豪。」

2016年,樂施會與合作夥伴「薩馬斯基金會」在印度五所學校推行一個教育項目,項目透過體育運動吸引孩子上學,深受孩子歡迎。家長反應比孩子來得慢熱,但看到運動能改善子女的體質,特別是看到女兒能同樣在運動場上表現出色,並為社區帶來榮譽,家長最終亦認同項目的價值。

Komal來自印度北部的北方邦。她年紀雖小,但已飽受歧視。在印度,通常只有男孩參與運動,但Komal的父母讓她玩摔跤,這不單是挑戰印度傳統女不如男的觀念,更是爭取性別平等,回應針對女性的暴力問題的結構性原因。

「印度的女孩從小就被教導要接受男性比女性優越。我的家鄉便不鼓勵女孩像男孩一樣接受教育。相反,我們被教導要照顧年輕的弟妹和做家務,而人生的主要目的就是成為一名好妻子。很多女性在婚後都遭遇家庭暴力,因為丈夫並不視我們為平等。」Komal說。

「玩摔跤讓我表現出女孩的力量,亦讓父母感到自豪。縱使女孩做運動會招致其他人的奇異目光,我仍覺得女孩跟男孩應該有同樣的機會參加運動。」

「因為老師的支持,父母讓我參加摔跤比賽,更在全邦大賽中贏得銀牌,證明女孩也可以有驕人成就。」

「特別是我媽媽,她很為我的成就感到自豪。她希望我在未來有比她更多的機會。」

「男女都應該得到平等對待,我會繼續為此而奮鬥。」

 

攝影:印度樂施會