SHARE THIS
Copy the link and open WeChat to share

Open Wechat

Oxfam believes that everyone is entitled to a fair wage, and that employment poverty is unfair. In Hong Kong, there is a worrying trend towards more low-wage jobs, sub-standard employment, and unemployment: in 2009, more than 360,400 workers were earning less than HK$5,250 a month. Most are women and most work in cleaning, catering, retailing, trading, hotel, security and construction industries and as domestic workers. 

 

Case: Cleaning workers
"
There is no employment protection for cleaning workers,” says Choi, 56, who has worked in the industry for decades.

In 2002, Choi was hired by a cleaning company as an outsourced worker, working more than 10 hours a day and repeatedly handling garbage and heavy objects. She earned about HK$5,000 a month, was cheated of her holiday entitlement, and suffers from rheumatoid arthritis. Choi’s situation is typical, she says. “Many contractors exploit workers by deducting pay and holidays or delaying redundancy payments.”

In 2005, she joined the Cleaning Workers Association, which is supported by Oxfam Hong Kong. The Association led petitions and demonstrations, and eventually she and other workers were able to get back a third of their holiday pay.

 

In depth: Fair wages

Real cases:


Analysis:
 
Oxfam Hong Kong's work:

分享
Copy the link and open WeChat to share

Open Wechat

樂施會認為,每個人都應該享有合理的工資,而在職貧窮是不公義的。可是香港低工資、條件差的工作,甚至失業的情況,均越來越普遍,情況令人擔憂:2009年本港便有逾360,400在職人士,月薪低於5,250港元,大部分都是婦女和從事清潔、飲食、零售、貿易、酒店、保安、建築及家務助理等行業。

 

個案: 清潔女工
「做清潔工毫無保障可言。」56歲、大半生從事清潔工作的彩姐說。

2002年彩姐加入一間清潔公司任職外判清潔工人,每天工作超過10小時,要不斷搬運垃圾和重物。她的月薪只得5,000多港元,更被僱主剋扣假期,雙手及雙膝都因工作而患上了類風濕性關節炎。彩姐的處境,是行內工人的寫照。彩姐說:「很多老闆刻薄無良,他們剝削工人,扣糧、扣假、拖欠遣散費。」

2005年,彩姐加入樂施會撥款資助的「清潔工人工會」。工會組織她們上街遊行及請願,最終向僱主取回三分之一被騙的假期薪金。

「我們要站出來為工友爭取應有權益!」彩姐道。

樂施會認為,每人都有權獲得合理工資及基本生活保障。要改變在職貧窮問題,必須改變不公平的制度。過去10年來,我們一直和夥伴團體,包括「婦女勞工協會」、「天主教勞工事務委員會」、「民間爭取最低工資聯盟」、學者以及工會合作研究在職貧窮問題,向公眾披露在職貧窮的真實個案、發表跨國調查報告,以及舉辦最低工資研討會和約見政府官員,爭取最低工資立法,改善基層工友的待遇。

 

深入了解最低工資

真實個案:


評論文章:
 
樂施會的工作:

 

關鍵詞: 香港, 最低工資