SHARE THIS
Copy the link and open WeChat to share

Open Wechat

Oxfam in Bangladesh

Oxfam’s involvement in Bangladesh began in 1970 when it assisted the then cyclone victims and supported the displaced people of Bangladesh during the Liberation War in 1971. In recognition of our work in 1971, Oxfam was one of only three organisations honoured as a Friend of the Bangladesh Liberation War in 2012.  

 

I am independent

‘It’s not even close to being luxurious, but it means I am independent.’

In poor communities like Bangladesh’s Sehakathi Village, we’re empowering villagers socially and economically. Through our Resilience through Economic Empowerment, Climate Change Adaption, Leadership and Learning (REE-CALL) programme, we’re helping villagers form community-based organisations (CBOs), encouraging women to be leaders and helping villagers know their rights.

Marium Begum Moyuri stands proud having benefited from this programme, despite the difficulties she’s been through. ‘I was more or less destitute after my husband’s disappearance [seven days after the birth of my second child],’ Marium said speaking about her past. ‘My second marriage was nothing short of a nightmare. From beating me in public to psychologically abusing me, there was very little harm that [my second husband] didn’t expose me to … he too [eventually] vanished [so] I lived on other people’s grace.

‘It was around this time that I came to know about the REE-CALL project in the area … This was a major turning point in my life. I discussed with the CBO members and decided I had the skills to start and run a tea shop. So I received asset support to set up the shop and buy the necessary materials. It was the first time in my life I felt like I was taking control of my life. I was the one who was making the decisions that concerned me and my daughter.

‘I also received trainings on life skills and business management from REE-CALL. My business took off and slowly I started to rebuild my life. Within seven months [though], I lost most of my shop in an overnight act of thievery. I didn’t have enough savings by then to reinvest … But surprisingly, this time I didn’t feel despair. Since, becoming a member of CBO, I had a better appreciation of my abilities and rights, first as a human being and then as a woman. I knew I was not alone anymore. I talked to the CBO again. They sympathised with my predicament and gave me some complementary cash from the REE-CALL project to restock my shop.’ Through these CBOs, villagers like Marium can rest assured knowing that they have the support of others, even when disasters strike.

‘Look around you,’ Marium said inviting us to look around her shop, ‘it’s not even close to being luxurious, but it means I am independent.’

Photo: Ashish Kumar Bakshi/Oxfam in Bangladesh

分享
Copy the link and open WeChat to share

Open Wechat

樂施會在孟加拉

樂施會於70年代開始在孟加拉展開工作,當時主要是協助受颶風影響的災民,以及支持1971年解放戰爭時期國內流離失所的人民。樂施會亦因在1971年期間的出色工作,於2012年獲孟加拉表揚為解放戰爭之友的三間機構其中之一。 

 

我能獨立地過活

「看看這裡,茶館雖然簡陋,但對我來說卻意味著我能獨立地生活。」

在孟加拉的貧困社區Sehakathi村,樂施會正開展一個綜合發展項目(REE-CALL),讓村民得到社會和經濟上的賦權,項目透過社區經濟活動,幫助村民更有能力應對氣候變化,又提供領導培訓和學習,協助村民組織社區組織,鼓勵婦女擔任領導,幫助村民認識自己的權利。Marium Begum Moyuri是該項目的其中一名參與者,儘管要面對種種困難,她最終亦從項目中得到極大的幫助。

談起她的過去,Marium說:「我未結婚前已經很窮。在第二名孩子出生後七天, 我第一任丈夫就失踪了。當時,我幾乎是一貧如洗。我的第二段婚姻同樣是一場噩夢,我的第二任丈夫讓我受盡傷害,他在公眾場合打我,又心理上虐待我。他最終亦失踪,而我就只好再投靠別人。」

「在我最需要幫忙時,我認識了REE-CALL項目,這可以說是我人生的另一個轉捩點。社區組織的成員跟我討論我的情況,他們肯定我以往的銷售經驗,認為我有能力嘗試開辦一間茶館。REE-CALL項目給予我物資上的援助,協助我購買創業必需的材料,令我能開辦這間茶館。這是我第一次感到我能掌握我的人生,為自己和我的女兒作出重要的決定。」

「REE-CALL項目為我提供生活技能及業務管理方面的培訓。隨著生意慢慢好起來,我亦開始重建我的生活。雖然開業七個月內發生的一次盜竊,令我在一夜之間失去了茶館大部分的物資,我亦缺乏儲蓄來再投資。但驚訝地,這次我並沒有因為逆境而感到絕望。事實上,自從加入社區組織後,我對自己的能力有更大的信心,並認識到自己作為一個人,作為一個女性的權利。我知道我並不孤單。我再次向社區組織求助,他們十分明白我的困境,並讓我從REE-CALL項目獲得現金援助,令我能為茶館再次購入所需的物資。」

社區組織讓像Marium般的村民知道,即使災難發生,他們都會得到社區的支援。Marium邀請我們參觀她的茶館,並說:「看看這裡,茶館雖然簡陋,但對我來說卻意味著我能獨立地生活。」

攝影:樂施會孟加拉辦公室