SHARE THIS
Copy the link and open WeChat to share

Open Wechat

Vietnam is the easternmost country on the Indochina Peninsula in Southeast Asia with an estimated 90.5 million inhabitants as of 2014. Over the last 25 years, Vietnam has transformed into a more market-oriented economy. Due to a long period of stable and high growth, the national poverty rate fell from over 70 per cent in the mid-1980s to below 10 per cent in 2011. However, poverty remains an everyday reality among many ethnic minority people, elderly and female-headed households; most of them live in inland and mountainous regions of the country

Oxfam in Vietnam

Throughout the past 25 years, Oxfam has supported over 500 projects in Vietnam, which has directly benefited more than 850,000 poor people in the country. Oxfam’s work in Vietnam includes policy research, campaigning and advocacy that seek policy change on such issues as fair trade, food security, gender equality, and land governance. 

Too poor to be healthy

‘I just want to have my diseases cured and pay all the loans back.’

‘I just want to have my diseases cured and pay all the loans back,’ said 16-year-old Nhut, who now lives at the Ho Chi Minh City Oncology Hospital.

When Nhut was 15, he was diagnosed with a brain tumour. Emergency surgery to remove it saved his life, but left his family with unmanageable debt. Despite having health insurance, his family still had to take out a high interest loan to cover the medical fees. Since the surgery, Nhut has had to have further cancer treatment, leaving his parents with no choice but to sell their family home, farmland and farm assets.

Nhut’s case isn’t unique though. Each year, thousands of Vietnamese families are forced to take out loans and sell assets to pay for healthcare. In 2012, for instance, over 400,000 Vietnamese households were pushed into, or further into, poverty due to health expenditures. Despite increased public spending on health, it tends to be pro-rich. Public expenditure on hospitals and subsidies for wealthier citizens is much larger, whereas spending on commune health centres account for a small share of total spending.

We at Oxfam are thus calling on the Vietnamese government to increase budget allocations for public services in the poorest areas and for the most marginalised groups. We’re also calling on the government to provide resources and support for civil society to track and monitor budgets, and to increase spending on social protection, public health and education systems.

Photo: Adam Patterson / Oxfam

分享
Copy the link and open WeChat to share

Open Wechat

越南位於東南亞中南半島的最東端。過去25年來,越南已轉型為一個更以市場導向的經濟體。經過長年累月的穩定及高增長率,國家貧窮人口比例由1980年中期的超過70%跌至2011年的10%以下。然而,對於大部份聚居於內陸及山區的少數族裔、長者及女性戶主來說, 貧窮仍是他們每天要面對的現實。 

樂施會在越南

過去的25年,香港樂施會支持了逾500個在越南的項目,超過85萬貧窮人直接受惠。樂施會在當地的工作包括政策研究、倡議有關公平貿易、糧食安全、性別平等及土地管理的議題。

貧窮人無法支付的健康

「我只想醫好我的癌症和還清所有債務。」

在胡志明市腫瘤醫院留院的16歲男孩Nhut說:「我只想醫好我的癌症和還清所有債務。」

Nhut在15歲時被診斷患有腦腫瘤,需要接受緊急手術才能生存下去。雖然家人有買醫療保險,但由於保險賠償不足,為醫治Nhut,家人結果仍是要借高息貸款,令家庭要負擔沉重的債務。手術後,Nhut需要繼續接受治療。為支付Nhut的醫療費,他的家人只好出售自己的屋、農田和其他農作資產。

在越南,每年都有數以千計家庭跟Nhut一樣,為了支付醫療費用要變賣家產及擧債。單在2012年,就有超過40萬戶越南家庭,因醫療支出太高而陷入貧窮。雖然越南政府已增加了醫療開支,但受惠的主要是相對富有的市民,增加的醫療開支中只有少量花在地區的醫療設施上。

樂施會因此呼籲越南政府增加撥款給最貧窮的社區和最弱勢的人士,以及提升醫療、教育及社會保障方面的經費,同時呼籲政府為民間社會提供支持和資源,以便民間社會能發揮監察及追蹤政府如何落實這幾方面的預算。

攝影:Adam Patterson / 樂施會