Flooding in Guizhou and Yunnan

SHARE THIS
Copy the link and open WeChat to share

Open Wechat

更新:2014年6月11日

Flooding in Guizhou

Latest Situation
Torrential rains hit southern China in mid-May, which triggered flooding in several provinces, including Guizhou, Guangdong, Guangxi, Hunan and Yunnan. Serious flooding was experienced in Guizhou, while heavy rainfall also caused landslides in Yunnan. There was a second round of heavy rainstorms in Guizhou Province in early June, which resulted in more damage to eight cities (and autonomous region) and 50 counties. As of 9 June, the storms had left 1.5 million people affected in the province, with 10 dead and one reported missing. A total of 110,000 people need to be relocated urgently and 88,000 people require assistance with daily needs. Around 2,700 houses have collapsed and 21,000 have been seriously damaged. About 67,900 hectares of farmland and 10,400 hectares of crops have been damaged. The direct economic loss is estimated at HK$3.5 billion.

Oxfam’s Response
On 26 May, Oxfam conducted an on-site need assessment in Tongren, a severely affected settlement in Shiqian County, with Guizhou Blue Sky Search and Rescue Team, a local partner organisation. After the initial assessment, Oxfam arranged for 1,000 quilts and three sets of containers for water trucking to be delivered from its disaster preparedness warehouses in Guizhou. Oxfam distributed the quilts to flood-affected populations in four townships in Shiqian County and provided 1,500 people in Chuanyanba Village, Longtang Township, with a 10-day emergency supply of water. It also distributed 105 tonnes of rice to 7,000 people in Longtong and Zhongba townships, and provided cash grants to 84 families whose houses have been seriously damaged in Longtang Township. In total, 8,500 people are benefiting from Oxfam’s emergency assistance.

In early June, the second round of heavy rains hit Guizhou Province. Shiqian County, which had been seriously affected by the previous rainstorms, experienced the most damage. Oxfam made an assessment with Guizhou Blue Sky Search and Rescue Team on 5 June and launched a second round of emergency relief work. It has provided cash assistance to 32 families whose houses were seriously damaged in Dashaba Town. It has also provided a month’s supply of food to 4,100 farming households affected by the disaster, and a two month supply to 500 farming households that are especially poor. Oxfam expects the emergency assistance will benefit over 4,700 people.

 


Flooding in Yunnan

Situation and Response

Serious flooding and mudslides occurred in Latudi Village in Fugong County on 10 May, affecting 300 people and damaging 75 houses. There was a direct economic loss of HK$44million. Some of the villagers also require urgent evacuation.

Oxfam has immediately delivered emergency relief supplies from its disaster preparedness warehouse in Kunming to the affected area, and distributed family hygiene kits, cooking utensils and water containers to 47 farming households there. Oxfam has collaborated with several partner organisations under the Yunnan Volunteer Relief Alliance on disaster assessments and relief work to build up their capacities in humanitarian response through practical experience.

The villagers received the quilts supported by Oxfam.
Temporary tents set up by the government.
Torrential rains hit Southern China, triggered floods in several provinces in mid May.
Damaged crop fields in Shiqian County.

貴州、雲南水災

分享
Copy the link and open WeChat to share

Open Wechat

更新:2014年6月11日

貴州水災

災情概況
自5月中旬,內地華南地區普降暴雨,多個省份受災,貴州於6月初再遭逢暴雨侵襲,令災情更為嚴峻,雲南也因暴雨引發泥石流災害。截至6月9日,據貴州省民政廳統計,強降雨已造成貴州省內黔東南、安順、銅仁等8個市(自治州)、50個縣(區、市)共150萬人受災,10人遇難,1人失蹤;111,000人緊急轉移安置,88,000人需緊急生活救助;2700多間房屋倒塌,21,000間房屋損壞;67,900公頃農作物受災,其中10,400公頃農田農作物全毀。直接經濟損失達港幣35億元。

救援進度
5月26日,樂施會與合作夥伴貴州藍天救援隊連夜趕赴重災區銅仁市石阡縣龍塘鎮考察災情,並從樂施會的貴州備災倉庫中調撥1,000張棉被和3個運水用的大型水囊,送往災區。我們為石阡縣受災最嚴重的龍塘鎮、中壩鎮、湯山鎮、龍井鄉村民派發了1,000張棉被,為龍塘鎮川岩壩村1,500名村民提供10天的清潔用水,為龍塘鎮、中壩鎮7,000名村民派發了共105噸大米,以及為龍塘鎮84戶房屋嚴重損毀的村民提供現金援助應急,共有8,500人災民受惠。

6月初,貴州再次遭受強烈暴雨襲擊,早前嚴重受災的石阡縣在此輪暴雨中錄得最大雨量,令當地災情加劇。6月5日,樂施會貴陽辦項目工作人員與夥伴貴州藍天救援隊一起再往災區,考察災情,並將在當地展開第二輪的緊急救援工作,包括向石阡縣大沙壩鄉32戶倒房戶提供現金支援,為4,100個受災嚴重的農戶提供1個月糧食,以及為500個特別貧窮的農戶提供2個月糧食援助,預計受惠人數逾4,700人。

 


雲南水災

災情及救援情況

5月10日,雲南省怒江州福貢縣上帕鎮臘吐底河發生洪災泥石流自然災害,造成300多人受災,75戶房屋受損,經濟損失逾港幣4,400萬元,重災區福貢縣部分村民更需要緊急疏散。

因應災民生活所需,樂施會隨即調動其昆明備災倉庫的物資,向福貢縣臘吐底村集中安置點的47戶農戶發放家庭衛生套裝、廚具套裝、用水套裝等物資,以解受災家庭燃眉之急。為了推動當地救援機構的救災能力,樂施會與雲南志願救災聯盟旗下機構一起合作,共同進行災情評估及項目實施,為當地機構爭取實踐經驗。

樂施會的棉被派發至災民手上。
隨處可見當地政府在災區設立的臨時帳篷。
最近華南普降暴雨,多個省份受災,其中貴州及雲南災情甚為嚴峻。
房屋損毀嚴重。
石阡縣田地被毀。
暴雨對大沙壩鄉照成的第二大問題是地質災害隱患,該鄉以往有3處地質災害點,此次連續暴雨,新增2個地質災害隱患點,目前需轉移安置5個地質災害隱患點182戶653人。
城區目前已經停水停電多日,在周邊其它縣市的支援下,縣城大部分區域的清淤與消毒工作已經完成,消防車臨時供水整天供應。