Afghanistan earthquake

SHARE THIS
Copy the link and open WeChat to share

Open Wechat

Updated 27 November, 2015


Act Now!

Hong Kong Donor: Online Donation

Macau Donor: Online Donation


Latest Situation

On 26 October, a 7.5 magnitude earthquake shook Northern Afghanistan, causing deaths, injuries and widespread damage. Neighbouring Pakistan and India were also severely affected. The quake left countless homes levelled and over 280 people dead, of which, over 200 were in Pakistan. The earthquake also jolted Kashgar, Aksu and other regions in Xinjiang, China.

Together with its partners, Oxfam’s staff responded to the needs of survivors in affected communities in Pakistan, and worked to meet the following objectives:

  • Provide basic Water, Sanitation and Hygiene needs of 21,000 earthquake affected women, men, girls and boys in Khyber Pakhtukhwa Province and Federally Administered Tribal Areas in Pakistan;
  • Advocate for the rights of earthquake affected communities regarding government assistance and meaningful participation of communities at all levels with special focus on women’s needs.

What humanitarian relief we are providing:

  • Distributing 3,000 family hygiene kits
  • Distributing 153 rolls of tarpaulin sheets for shelter
  • Distributing a total of 1,410 latrine slabs to enable 21,000 individuals to meet their sanitation needs
  • Ensuring that the voices of earthquake affected people, especially girls and women, are heard
  • Monitoring authorities to ensure that they are fulfilling their responsibilities

Oxfam has projects in Afghanistan, Pakistan and India and has much experience in both development and humanitarian work in these countries. The agency will continue to work closely with local authorities and partners to obtain the latest information on the disaster and survivors’ needs to provide urgent and appropriate assistance.

Updated 27 October, 2015

A 7.5 magnitude earthquake shook Northern Afghanistan on 26 October, causing deaths, injuries and widespread damage. Neighbouring Pakistan and India were also severely affected. The quake left countless homes levelled and over 280 people dead, of which, over 200 were in Pakistan. The earthquake also jolted Kashgar, Aksu and other regions in Xinjiang in China.

Oxfam’s staff in Afghanistan, Pakistan and India are assessing the scale of the damage in order to respond to the needs of survivors as quickly as possible. With limited access to the mountainous region where the quake struck and hampered communications, the agency is coordinating with the local government and partners to obtain more comprehensive information. The number of casualties is expected to rise in remote areas.

Oxfam has projects in Afghanistan, Pakistan and India and has much experience in both development and humanitarian work in these countries. The agency will continue to work closely with local authorities and partners to obtain the latest information on the disaster and survivors’ needs to provide urgent and appropriate assistance such as shelters, food, clean water, and hygiene facilities and supplies. Survivors of the quake will be posed with even greater challenges as winter sets in; they will need supplies as soon as possible to keep them warm.

阿富汗地震

分享
Copy the link and open WeChat to share

Open Wechat

2015年11月27日更新


緊急救援!

香港捐款者:網上捐款

澳門捐款者:網上捐款


最新情況:

2015年10月26日,阿富汗北部發生黎克特制7.5級地震,在廣泛地區造成死傷和破壞,鄰國巴基斯坦和印度亦受到嚴重波及,大量房屋倒塌,至今共造成超過280人死亡,傷者數以千計。其中,鄰國巴基斯坦全國感到震動,死亡人數更超過200人。中國新疆的喀什、阿克蘇等地區亦有強烈震感。

樂施會救援人員在災區進行評估後,迅速與當地合作夥伴共同向巴基斯坦的災民提供救援,目標包括:

  • 在重災區開伯爾-普什圖省及聯邦直轄部落地區,為21,000名受地震影響災民提供公共衛生設施及衛生用品,以應付最緊急的需要;
  • 為受災社群就婦女特殊需要進行倡導,以爭取政府援助及社群參與空間。
  • 我們的救援人員已在當地即時進行救援,並陸續向災民提供以下應急援助:
  • 正派發3,000個家庭衛生包
  • 正發放153卷帳篷用防水布
  • 正向21,000名災民派發1,410個蹲便器,以滿足衛生防疫需要
  • 繼續確保受災人士的聲音,尤以婦女及女孩的需求得到正視,也監察相關當局履行責任

樂施會在阿富汗、巴基斯坦和印度三國,有長期扶貧工作及救援經驗,我們將繼續與當地有關部門及夥伴密切了解最新災情及災民的需要,以提供緊急及適切的支援。

更新:2015年10月27日

2015年10月26日,阿富汗北部發生黎克特制7.5級地震,在廣泛地區造成死傷和破壞,鄰國巴基斯坦和印度亦受到嚴重波及,大量房屋倒塌,至今共造成超過280人死亡,傷者數以千計。其中,鄰國巴基斯坦全國感到震動,死亡人數更超過200人。新疆的喀什、阿克蘇等地區亦有強烈震感。

樂施會在阿富汗、巴基斯坦和印度的救援人員,已即時展開災情評估工作,以盡快了解災民的需要。由於受重創地區屬山區,地勢崎嶇,加上震後通訊及交通中斷,我們亦正與當地政府及合作夥伴緊密溝通,以掌握整體災情,預計偏遠地區死傷人數會不斷上升。

樂施會在阿富汗、巴基斯坦和印度三國,有長期扶貧工作及救援經驗,我們將繼續與當地有關部門及夥伴密切了解最新災情及災民的需要,以提供緊急及適切的支援,如帳篷、糧食、清潔食水、衛生用品及設施等。寒冬將至,地震將對災民造成更大的威脅,預計災民亦極需要禦寒物資保暖。