Greetings from Council Chair

SHARE THIS
Copy the link and open WeChat to share

Open Wechat

The global fight against poverty is entering a new era: today it is important not simply to address poverty itself but to challenge the structural causes of poverty, thus making poverty alleviation work increasingly difficult.

In the past, organisations like Oxfam would go to villages and build wells and schools. Today, infrastructure undreamed of even 20 years ago is being built across the developing world. And, indeed, many hundreds of millions have been pulled from poverty. However, the very poorest in the world remain powerless, vulnerable and often hungry - it is estimated that around 800 million people around the world go to bed hungry every night.

So what can Oxfam Hong Kong do to help abolish poverty and the injustices and suffering that accompany it? We send our people to areas of natural disaster, we work more than ever with local partners to empower people living in poverty through education, advocacy work and building sustainable livelihoods. Our work is in the poorest parts of China, the poorest areas in the rest of Asia and in Africa.

But we also work with other Oxfam affiliates around the world - many from the global south / developing countries - to press for changes in global trade practices, fair taxes and action on climate change and against corruption. We focus on issues that harm the chances of the world’s poorest people but which they are not in a position to speak up on for themselves.

Over its 40 years of existence Oxfam Hong Kong has a proud history of helping the poorest and most vulnerable around the world while keeping our administrative costs low and transparent.

Our world is now changing fast and Oxfam Hong Kong is changing with it. With the ongoing support of our loyal supporters we will continue to work with the world’s poorest but also be willing to speak ‘truth unto power’ on their behalf.

After more than 30 years as a supporter of Oxfam Hong Kong I am extremely proud to have been asked to chair Oxfam Hong Kong at this exciting time of change.

Josephine Chesterton

Council Chair

分享
Copy the link and open WeChat to share

Open Wechat

全球滅貧工作正進入新里程,著眼點不只在於治標的消滅貧窮,更重要是治本的解決結構性問題。滅貧工作因而變得越益困難,充滿挑戰。

以往,像樂施會般的扶貧機構會走到鄉村建設水井或學校。時至今日,在20年前不能想像的基建設施,卻在發展中國家出現。事實上,數以億計的人在過去數十年間脫離貧窮。然而,世界各地仍有無數貧窮人依然無權、弱勢和飢餓,約8億人每夜要餓著入睡。

那麼,樂施會又如何幫助消除貧窮以及導致貧窮的不公義情況?我們派出工作人員到受天災影響的地域支援救災和重建。在中國內地、亞洲其他地區及非洲最貧窮的地方,我們與當地夥伴建立緊密的聯繫,透過教育、倡議及推動可持續生計等工作,協助貧窮人自強。

我們亦與世界各地的樂施會國際聯會成員,包括不少來自南方/發展中國家的成員,一起推動國際社會改變貿易慣例、倡議公平稅項,並在應對氣候變化及對抗貪腐上採取行動。貧窮人受影響最深卻無力發聲的議題,我們尤為關注。

在過往近40年的工作中,樂施會致力幫助世界各地最貧窮及最弱勢的社群,同時在管理及行政費用上,保持低比率及高透明度,成績顯著。

世界瞬息萬變,樂施會的扶貧策略也要與時並進。憑藉眾多夥伴的支持,我們會繼續與世界的貧窮社群共同努力,協助他們發聲,爭取權利和公義。

在過去30多年,我一直支持樂施會的工作。在全球滅貧工作進入新紀元之際,我獲邀出任樂施會的董事會主席,確實是我的榮幸。

董事會主席

齊家瑩