SHARE THIS
Copy the link and open WeChat to share

Open Wechat

Updated 23 August, 2016 

The Situation

In July, monsoon season began badly affecting northern Bangladesh and the north-eastern state of Assam in India. The situation has deteriorated over the past few weeks. It is estimated that the floods have caused over 61 flood-related casualties and affected over 5.2 million people in these two countries.

In Bangladesh: In Assam state of India:
  • Affected population: 3.5 million (700,000 families) across 15 districts
  • Reported casualties: 42
  • Nearly 13,000 people in 69 flood shelters
  • Affected population: 1.7 million people across 22 districts out of 27 districts
  • Reported casualties: 19
  • Ten of thousands people are taking shelter in relief camps

 

Since the floods have damaged hand pumps and inundated the wells, the contamination of water sources and water-borne diseases such as diarrhoea are major areas of concern. People desperately need clean water and sanitation. The floods have also severely impacted the food security and livelihoods of those affected by them.

Oxfam’s Response

Oxfam aims to reach 4,200 families (around 17,136 persons) in Bangladesh and 3,250 families (approximately 16,250 persons) in Assam by providing support in water, sanitation and hygiene (WASH) and livelihood recovery.

In Bangladesh:

Oxfam is on the ground in Gaibandha district, Sirajgonj district and Kurigram district to assist those affected by the floods and ensure their dignity during this process:

  1. Direct cash grants (unconditional, one-off) of BDT 4,000 per family to meet their immediate and primary needs. These cash grants will also help revive local markets since the floods have compromised people’s purchasing power. We will ensure transparency and accountability through the participation of beneficiaries and local organisations throughout the project cycle.
  2. Hygiene kits that include items like a water storage jar, bathing and washing soaps, sanitary cloth, oral rehydration salt, and water purification tablets. The oral rehydration salts can assure that flood-affected persons have fluid substitutes when suffering from illness, such as diarrhoea, which is common in flood-affected areas. This can help replace electrolytes and replenish nutrients so that they can recover more quickly.
  3. A hygiene training will be given to all targeted households to improve the public health situation. It will benefit over 84,000 direct participants (targeted families and extended communities).

In Assam:

Oxfam aims to reach 3,250 households (16,250 persons) by:

  1. Delivering hygiene kits that have such items as a bucket and mug, water chlorination tablets, oral rehydration salts, bathing soaps, sanitary products for women and girls, traditional Indian underwear, and antiseptic lotion.
  2. Distributing emergency shelter and household kits. These include tarpaulin and groundsheets, blankets, bed sheets, a smokeless stove, kitchen set, solar lantern, water filter and mosquito nets. These items can protect exposed households from poor weather and mosquitoes, and ensure that their living areas can be kept dry.

In this disaster, Oxfam Hong Kong received HK$3.49 million from the HKSAR Government Disaster Relief Fund to purchase relief items in Assam state of India.

Oxfam pays special attention to the concerns of remote and poor communities, as well as the needs of vulnerable groups, such as women, elderly and people with disabilities. We adjust our humanitarian response based on the needs of the situation.

分享
Copy the link and open WeChat to share

Open Wechat

更新:2016年8月23日 

最新情況

2016年7月,受雨季影響,豪雨侵襲孟加拉、印度、緬甸和尼泊爾。其中,香港樂施會支持孟加拉北部,以及印度東北部的阿薩姆邦的救援工作。據估計,水災已造成逾61人傷亡,受影響人數超過520萬人。

孟加拉 印度阿薩姆邦
  • 受影響人數:15個地區共350萬人 (即7萬戶)
  • 傷亡數字:42宗
  • 近13,000人棲身於69個庇護中心
  • 受影響人數:22個地區逾170萬人
  • 傷亡數字:超過19宗
  • 逾萬人棲身於庇護中心

 

在災區,洪水污染食水水源,洪水沖毀水泵及水井,水傳播疾病對災民造成威脅。目前,災民急需食水及衛生用品,也面臨生計及糧食短缺的問題。

救援進度

樂施會迅速在當地評估災情,並展開救援工作,目標分別向孟加拉北部4,200戶受影響家庭 (約17,136人)及印度阿薩姆邦3,250戶家庭 (約16,250人)提供援助,包括食水及衛生設施、公眾衛生教育,以及生計復原支援:

孟加拉

我們在戈伊班達地區、錫拉傑甘傑區、古里格拉姆縣進行救援,讓災民在水災中重獲尊嚴。

  1. 一次性緊急現金:向每戶派發孟加拉幣4000元 (相當於港幣395元) 以應付即時的基本需要。由於水災削弱當地市場的購買力,現金援助也能加快復原當地的市場經濟。在進行救援時,我們重視受惠者的參與及在地工作夥伴的監察程序,確保機制的透明度及可信性。
  2. 向災民提供衛生用品包:包括儲水容器、洗澡皂、衛生棉布、口服補液鹽 (ORS) ,以及淨水丸。口服補液鹽 (ORS)讓因急性腹瀉等水災常見疾病的患者,補充電解質及營養,以助康復。
  3. 為災民舉行公眾衛生教育培訓:目標是提升受災戶對公眾衛生的認知,整個社區的受惠人數達84,000人。

印度阿薩姆邦

我們目標向當地3,250戶 (約16,250人)提供:

  1. 派發衛生用品包,包括水桶及盛水容器、淨水丸、口服補液鹽 (ORS)、洗澡皂、婦女衛生用品、傳統內衣褲、殺菌潤膚露等。
  2. 派發庇護所及家庭用品,包括防水帆布、地蓆、毛毯、床單、無煙煮食爐及用具、太陽能燈、食水過濾器及蚊帳等,以保護災民免受惡劣天氣侵襲及蚊釘,以及保持庇護所乾爽。

是次水災,香港樂施會就印度阿薩姆邦的救援,獲香港特區政府賑災基金撥款349萬港元。

樂施會在進行救援工作時,特別關注偏遠貧困、獲較少外界資源的社區,以及婦女、長者及殘障人士等弱勢社群的需要,並按災情需要而調整救援方向。